Belfast Royal Academy - founded 1785


Our School – House System

Pupils are assigned to one of the four houses – Cairns, Currie, Pottinger and Shaw.

  • Cairns House (Blue) commemorates a most eminent old boy, Sir Hugh Cairns, who became Attorney General for England in 1866, and in 1874 was appointed Lord Chancellor.
  • Currie House (Green) is named after Sir Donald Currie, the shipping magnate who was involved in
    British expansion in South Africa. He also founded the Sir Donald Currie Scholarship. He died in 1909.
  • Pottinger House (Red) is named after Sir Henry Pottinger, who became the first Governor of Hong Kong in 1843. He later became Governor of the Cape of Good Hope and the Governor of Madras.
  • Shaw House (Yellow) commemorates Mr James Shaw who was Head of the Classical School and Vice Principal of the Academy for many years.